

## Inaugural Meeting of the Board

Minutes

Thursday, September 14, 2023 Craig M. Stahlke Board Room Administration Office 181 Henlow Bay, Winnipeg, MB R3Y 1M7

## 1. Secretary-Treasurer in the Chair

## 2. Attendance

Trustees:

T. Johnson, C. Nachtigall, A. Becker, J. Brar, D. Johnson, C. Jolly, L. Karn, S. Nixon, C. Stahlke

Administration:

- L. Boles, Superintendent
- C. Roberts, Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum and Learning Services
- T. Scott, Assistant Superintendent, Personnel and Education Services
- S. Carleton, Secretary-Treasurer
- L. Farmer, Chief Human Resources Officer

# 3. Call to Order

The Secretary-Treasurer called the meeting to order at 8:00 p.m.

# 4. Agenda Approval

Agenda approved by show of hands.

### 5. Elections

Nominations for Chair of the Board were opened. Trustee Karn nominated Trustee T. Johnson. As there were no further nominations, Trustee T. Johnson was declared Chair of the Board.

Nominations for Vice-Chair of the Board were opened. Trustee A. Becker nominated Trustee C. Nachtigall. As there were no further nominations, Trustee C. Nachtigall was declared Vice-Chair of the Board.

The newly elected Chair of the Board assumed the Chair.

#### 6. Standing Committee and Special/Advisory Committee Members

#### **Board Standing Committees:**

**Finance, Buildings, Property and Transportation -** Craig Stahlke (Chair), Alicia Becker and David Johnson

Education - Stu Nixon (Chair), Linda Karn, and Christine Jolly

**Communication and Community Relations -** David Johnson (Chair), Stu Nixon, and Jasmine Brar

**Human Resources and Policy -** Cindy Nachtigall (Chair), Jasmine Brar, and Alicia Becker

#### Negotiations:

#### **PTTA** (No longer required - Provincial Bargaining)

CUPE 4588 - Craig Stahlke (Chair), Cindy Nachtigall and Stu Nixon

CUPE 4588-1 - Craig Stahlke (Chair), Alicia Becker, and Christine Jolly

**PTANTE** - Cindy Nachtigall (Chair), Craig Stahlke, and Jasmine Brar

CUPE 5121 - David Johnson (Chair), Craig Stahlke, and Linda Karn

EAPT - David Johnson (Chair), Craig Stahlke, and Linda Karn

### Special and Advisory Committees:

**Pembina Trails School Division Educational Support Fund (Corporate Board) -** Linda Karn (Chair), Alicia Becker, Christine Jolly, and Cindy Nachtigall

Fort Garry Community Network Liaison - David Johnson

**Board/Association Council on Education (B.A.C.E.)** - Tim Johnson and Cindy Nachtigall

Assiniboine South Early Years Team - Healthy Child Coalition - Stu Nixon and Linda Karn

**Fort Garry/St. Norbert Healthy Child Coalition -** Jasmine Brar and Christine Jolly

Threat Assessment Committee - Alicia Becker

#### Resolution # IN20230914.1001

Moved By C. Jolly Seconded By C. Stahlke THAT Trustee membership on the Standing Committees and Special/Advisory Committees be approved.

## Carried

# 7. Board Meeting Days

### Resolution # IN20230918.1002

Moved By C. Nachtigall Seconded By J. Brar

THAT the regularly scheduled Board Meetings be held on the second and fourth Thursday of each month starting at 8:00 p.m. September through June and,

THAT the Board cancel the Board Meeting scheduled for Thursday, December 28, 2023, for winter break and,

THAT the Board cancel the Board Meeting scheduled for Thursday, March 28, 2024, for spring break.

Carried

### 8. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 8:11 p.m.