

## **Inaugural Meeting of the Board**

#### **Minutes**

Thursday, September 12, 2024
Start Time: 8:00 p.m.
Craig M. Stahlke Board Room
Administration Office
181 Henlow Bay, Winnipeg, MB R3Y 1M7

# 1. Recognition of Treaty Land

We acknowledge we are on the lands of Turtle Island where Indigenous Peoples have lived since time began. These are the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabe, Ininew, and Dakota Nations as well as the traditional trade and travel routes of the Anishininew, Dene, and Inuit. We also acknowledge we are on Treaty One territory and the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. Pembina Trails School Division is committed to working together in partnership with Indigenous communities in a spirit of reconciliation.

Nous reconnaissons que nous sommes sur les terres de l'île de la Tortue où les peuples autochtones vivent depuis le début des temps. Il s'agit des terres ancestrales des nations Anishinaabe, Ininew et Dakota, ainsi que des routes traditionnelles de commerce et de voyage des Anishininew, des Dénés et des Inuits.

Nous reconnaissons également que nous sommes sur le territoire du Traité un et la patrie nationale des Métis de la rivière Rouge. La Division scolaire Pembina Trails s'est engagée à travailler ensemble en partenariat avec les communautés autochtones dans un esprit de réconciliation.

# 2. Secretary-Treasurer in the Chair

As per Board procedure, the Secretary-Treasurer assumed the role of Chair during the inaugural meeting until the results of the Chair and Vice Chair elections were concluded.

### 3. Attendance

Trustees:

T. Johnson, C. Nachtigall, A. Becker, J. Brar, D. Johnson, C. Jolly, L. Karn, S. Nixon, C. Stahlke

#### Administration:

- S. Amos, Superintendent
- C. Roberts, Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum and Learning Services
- T. Scott, Assistant Superintendent, Personnel and Education Services
- S. Carleton, Secretary-Treasurer
- L. Farmer, Chief Human Resources Officer

Regrets: Nil.

### 4. Call to Order

The Secretary-Treasurer called the meeting to order at 8:03 p.m.

## 5. Agenda Approval

#### Resolution # IN20240912.1001

Moved By T. Johnson Seconded By L. Karn

THAT the agenda be approved as circulated.

Carried

### 6. Elections

Nominations for Chair of the Board were opened. Alicia Becker nominated Cindy Nachtigall. As there were no further nominations, Cindy Nachtigall was declared Chair of the Board.

Nominations for Vice-Chair of the Board were opened. Tim Johnson nominated Craig Stahlke. As there were no further nominations, Craig Stahlke was declared Vice-Chair of the Board.

The newly elected Chair of the Board assumed the Chair.

### 7. Standing Committee and Special/Advisory Committee Members

The Board approved the following membership on Standing Committees, as per the attached Standing Committee Membership grid.

**Standing Committees:** 

Finance, Buildings, Property and Transportation Chair: T. Johnson

Board Members: C. Stahlke, L. Karn

Education - Chair: C. Jolly

Board Members: J. Brar, A. Becker

Communication and Community Relations - Chair: J. Brar

Board Members: D. Johnson, T. Johnson

Human Resources and Policy - Chair: S. Nixon

Board Members: C. Jolly, L. Karn

Negotiations:

CUPE 4588 -1 - Chair: D. Johnson Board Members: C. Jolly, A. Becker

CUPE 4588 - Chair: L. Karn

Board Members: T. Johnson, S. Nixon

PTANTE - Chair: C. Stahlke

Board Members: T. Johnson, D. Johnson

CUPE 5121 - Chair: A. Becker

Board Members: D. Johnson, C. Jolly

EAPT - Chair: D. Johnson

Board Members: J. Brar, C. Stahlke

**Special and Advisory Committees:** 

Pembina Trails School Division Educational Support Fund (Corporate Board) -

Chair: A. Becker

Board Members: S. Nixon, C. Stahlke, L. Karn

Fort Garry Community Network Liaison - Chair: C. Jolly

Board Member: D. Johnson

Board/Association Council on Education (B.A.C.E.)

Board Members: Chair, C. Nachtigall, Vice-Chair, C. Stahlke

Assiniboine South Early Years Team - Healthy Child Coalition - Chair: L. Karn

Board Member: S. Nixon

Fort Garry/St. Norbert Community Network Liaison - Chair: J. Brar

Board Member: A. Becker

Assessment of Risk and Threat to Others/Self - Chair: A. Becker

Board Member: J. Brar

Resolution # IN20240912.1002

Moved By C. Stahlke

Seconded By T. Johnson

THAT Trustee membership on the Standing Committees and Special/Advisory Committees be approved.

Carried

# 8. Board Meeting Days

### Resolution # IN20240912.1003

Moved By C. Stahlke Seconded By D. Johnson

THAT the regularly scheduled Board Meetings be held on the second and fourth Thursday of each month starting at 8:00 p.m. September through June and,

THAT the regularly scheduled Board Meeting on October 10, 2024, be moved to October 9, 2024, to accommodate the Pembina Trails Leadership Committee Annual Conference and,

THAT the regularly scheduled Board Meeting on December 26, 2024, be cancelled due to winter break and,

THAT the regularly scheduled Board Meeting on March 27, 2025, be cancelled due to spring break.

Carried

## 9. Adjournment

g p	
Chair of the Board	
Secretary-Treasurer	

Meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.